The Most Glorious Crown
The Most Glorious Crown

The Most Glorious Crown

The Story of America's Triple Crown Thoroughbreds from Sir Barton to American Pharoah
By Marvin Drager, By Ed McNamara


320 Pages, 9 x 10

Formats: Cloth, Mobipocket, EPUB, PDF

Cloth, $27.95 (CA $33.95) (US $27.95)

ISBN 9781629372105

Rights: WOR

Triumph Books (Jun 2016)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock
Google Preview
Media Copy


The definitive work on this rare coronation, this book delves into the history, personalities, and subplots of each of the 12 Triple Crown champions. From Sir Barton in 1919 through American Pharaoh in 2015, each Triple Crown winner has exhibited a true personality and charisma befitting of super stardom and renowned author Marvin Drager's prose brings to life these 12 remarkable stories. The Most Glorious Crown is a unique and fascinating inspection of each champion, their jockeys, owners, and trainers, as well as a riveting account of each race and the events leading up to each historic event. This magnificent oversized book includes more than 150 archival, authentic black-and-white photographs of each thoroughbred throughout different stages of its career. It also includes actual racing forms from each race for the Triple Crown. This new, updated edition features chapters on the 37 year gap between Triple Crown winners and 2015 champion American Pharaoh.

Author Biography

Marvin Drager ran a successful public relations firm in New York City and was previously a photo editor for the Associated Press and a reporter for the New York Post. He also contributed articles to major national magazines. Mr. Drager passed away in 2013. Ed McNamara is an award-winning racing writer and a sports copy editor at Newsday on Long Island. He has made bets at 94 tracks around the world, cashing tickets at many of them. He lives with his wife, Jean, in Setauket, New York, 50 miles east of Belmont Park. He is the author of Cajun Racing: From the Bush Tracks to the Triple Crown.