Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History
Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History

Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History

Foreword by Archie Griffin


214 Pages, 8.5 x 11

Formats: Trade Paper, PDF, EPUB, Mobipocket

Trade Paper, $19.95 (CA $21.95) (US $19.95)

ISBN 9781572438996

Rights: WOR

Triumph Books (Sep 2006)


eBook Editions Available

Will it work on my eReader?
Sorry, this item is temporarily out of stock
Google Preview
Media Copy


Winning the 2003 national championship in dramatic fashion with a 31-24 upset of top-ranked Miami in what many called the greatest college football game of all time undoubtedly ranks as one of the most memorable moments in OSU football history. That moment, along with the Buckeyes' national championships of 1942, 1954, 1957, 1961, and 1968, is captured in this comprehensive collection of Ohio State's glorious triumphs on the gridiron. Beginning with a win over Northwestern that capped a perfect 1916 season, the book chronicles dozens of the biggest games in Buckeye history as well as highlighting some of the brightest stars to don the scarlet and gray. Included are OSU's Heisman Trophy winners Les Horvath, Vic Janowicz, Hopalong Cassady, Archie Griffin, and Eddie George, as well as legendary linemen such as Lou Groza, Jim Houston, Jim Arker, Jim Stillwagon, John Hicks, Jim Lachey and Orlando Pace. Selected games include high-profile non-conference showdowns and the biggest of the Big Ten matchups as well as Rose Bowls, Gator Bowls, and Cotton Bowls, culminating with the incredible 2003 Fiesta Bowl. Whoever pronounced that OSU's victory that January night was the program's brightest moment to date might be surprised to find so many more special highlights brought to life in this book, a must for every Buckeyes fan.

Author Biography

Archie Griffin is a former professional running back who played seven seasons in the NFL. He attended Ohio State University and is the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner and was the first player in college football history to start in four Rose Bowls.

Press Releases

For more than 90 years, the Ohio State football team has been one of the most successful programs on the college football scene. From Woody Hayes’ glory days to Jim Tressel’s Big 10 powerhouse of today, the Buckeyes have long carried the reputation of being a force to be reckoned with from central Ohio.

Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History, Foreword by Archie Griffin, brings together the best players, coaches and most exhilarating moments in Ohio State football lore into one complete masterpiece.

Key players and coaches who made Ohio State football the success story that it is today are highlighted throughout Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History. Buckeye legends such as Paul Brown, Archie Griffin, Woody Hayes, Eddie George and Orlando Pace are all featured as the people who were the foundation that built up the Big 10 power from Columbus.

This unrivaled collection of stories and recaps of the biggest games in the Buckeyes’ history includes:

» The 2003 Fiesta Bowl victory against Miami to claim the national championship

» The dominant victories over Notre Dame in 1995 and 1996

» All the thrilling triumphs over the years against archrival Michigan

» The Buckeyes’ first Rose Bowl victory in 23 years against Arizona State in 1997

» The memorable national championship win in the 1969 Rose Bowl against USC

» The major upset versus Texas A&M in the 1987 Cotton Bowl

Filled with full-color photos throughout, Greatest Moments in Ohio State Football History gives readers vivid visuals to help share all of the greatest moments of the most important games and the pageantry that makes up the Buckeyes’ historic past.